Irish Hotels Federation crowns National Employee of the Year

Thursday, March 31, 2022.
Irish Hotels Federation crowns National Employee of the Year

National Hotel Employee of the Year Announced

Klara Vrlika, Inchydoney Island Lodge and Spa,Cork wins 2022 IHF award

Klara Vrlika, Senior Receptionist at the Inchydoney Island Lodge and Spa, Cork, has been named the Irish Hotels Federation (IHF) National Employee of the Year. Now in its fifth year, the award celebrates and recognises the hotel team member who has made an outstanding contribution to their workplace. Elaina Fitzgerald Kane, outgoing President of the Irish Hotels Federation presented Ms Vrlika with her award at the IHF’s Annual Conference in Cavan.

Congratulating Ms Vrlika and the six other nominees shortlisted for the award, Ms Fitzgerald Kane paid tribute to the high calibre of people working within the sector. “This award truly showcases the immense talent and dedication shown by hotel and guesthouse teams right throughout the country. Over 65,000 people are now working in the hotel sector, and the diverse and engaging roles available ensure there are fantastic opportunities to build a rewarding career.

Irish Hotels Federation crowns National Employee of the Year

This award provides us with an opportunity to show our appreciation for the valuable contribution that hotel team members make each day in providing a world class hospitality product,” she added.

Klara was commended for being an integral part of her team since first joining in 2019. Her career at Inchydoney began as a receptionist and it was soon clear that she had a natural talent and warmth in dealing with guests. Less than a year later, Klara was promoted to Senior Receptionist and was chosen by the Management Team as a candidate for the 3 Year Trainee Manager Development Programme at Munster Technological University-MTU.

Over the last year, amongst the backdrop of restrictions and the uncertainty that came with it, Klara has always offered a knowing smile, words of reassurance and willingness to go above and beyond to ensure guests are happy and comfortable.

Members of the Irish Hotels Federation could nominate a candidate who consistently shows outstanding hospitality from their hotel/guesthouse to go forward for their regional branch award.

The other shortlisted nominees for the award were:

  • Midlands                                            Siofra Ryan-Smith, Kilkea Castle Hotel
  • Shannon                                            David Kelly, Fitzgerald Woodlands House Hotel
  • Kerry                                                  Joe Moriarty, Dromhall Hotel
  • Dublin                                                Jack Cummings, Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
  • Cork                                                  Klara Vrlika, Lodge & Spa at Inchydoney
  • Sligo/Leitrim/N. Roscommon      Conor Conway,  Sligo Park Hotel
  • South East                                        Amy Sheridan, Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre Waterford

The national award was adjudicated by an independent panel of judges, chaired by Dr Donagh Davern of Munster Technological University.

Sharing is caring!

Read More On:

Related News

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This