Irish Food Writing Award Winners 2023

Friday, October 27, 2023. 1:24pm

The third annual Irish Food Writing Awards were held last night (Thursday 26th October) at the RDS in Dublin 4, with a later reception hosted by The Merrion Hotel in their Cellar Bar. An unprecedented number of submissions were received for an expanded list of categories, including the new Award on Writing on Irish Seafood.

Over ninety award finalists attended from throughout the island of Ireland, competing for the 21 awards on offer covering Irish food and drink journalism, cookbooks, feature writing, blogging, podcasting, photography and Instagram/TikTok.

The awards were attended by some of their international judges including BBC journalist Dan Saldino, ITV Drinks Journalist Andy Clarke and Hello Magazine’s Charlotte Pike, former Chair of the UK Guild of Food Writers. Other judges included Rene Redzepi, Tom Parker Bowles and Fiona Beckett.

Irish Food Writing Awards founder, journalist Suzanne Campbell, said “We were overwhelmed with the amount of entries in this, our third year of the awards. It’s been a great experience again working with our international judges and Irish food and drink sponsor companies without which the awards couldn’t happened. Myself and colleague Paul O’Connor set this up in 2021 to recognise excellence and the hard work of writers and food media.”

Irish Food Writing Awards Winners

Irish Food or Drink Podcast: Spice Bags Podcast

Judged by Nigel Barden. Sponsored by Sharon Noonan

Cookery Writing Award: Beth O’Brien, Irish Times

Judged by Ed Smith. Sponsored by Ardkeen Grocery

Writing on Irish Food Producers: Marie Claire Digby, Irish Times

Judged by Charlotte Pike. Sponsored by Certified Irish Angus

Investigative Writing: Maria Delaney, Geela Garcia and Louise Lawless of

Judged by Dan Saladino. Sponsored by Drummond House Garlic

Writing on Seafood Award: Janine Kennedy, Irish Country Living

Sponsored by Glenmar Shellfish

Emerging Voice in Irish Food Writing: Shamin deBrun, Char Food Guide

Judged by Charlotte Pike. Sponsored by Clayton Hotels

Irish Food Magazine/Supplement Award: Irish Times Magazine

Judged by Mina Holland. Sponsored by Invest Northern Ireland

Food Photography (professional category): Ruth Calder-Potts

Judged by Joann Pai. Sponsored by Odaois Foods

Food Photography (amateur category) : Sapana Behl

Judged by Joann Pai . Sponsored by Odaois Foods

Irish Food Blog Award: ‘Botanical Cuisine Digest’ Technical University Dublin

Judged by Robb Walsh. Sponsored by Pestle+Mortar sauces

Restaurant Feature Writing: Marie Claire Digby, Irish Times

Judged by Felicity Cloake. Sponsored by Safco Fine Foods

Writing on Sustainability in Irish Food Award: Caroline Hennessy, The Examiner

Judged by Catherine Mack

Cookbook of The Year Award: ‘Paradiso: recipes and reflections’ by Denis Cotter

Judged by Colman Andrews. Sponsored by Gather&Gather

Wine Writing Award: Mick O’Connell, Food and Wine Magazine

Judged by Fiona Beckett. Sponsored by Whelehan’s Wines

Spirits Writing Award: Janine Kennedy, Irish Country Living

Judged by Rachel McCormack. Sponsored by Powerscourt Distillery.

Beer Writing Award: Gary Law, Belfast Telegraph

Judged by Richard Croasdale. Sponsored by Franciscan Well

Culinary Student Award: Gavin McDonagh, Technical University Dublin

Judged by Jess Murphy and Gareth Mullins. Sponsored by Kerrygold

Food Writing Award: Aoife Carrigy, Irish Independent

Judged by Deborah Reid. Sponsored by Bord Bia

Writing on International Cuisines: Vritti Bansal, Irish Times

Judged by Anjula Devi. Sponsored by Ruchii Blackrock

Irish Food on Instagram/Tiktok Award: Char Food Guide

Judged by Andy Clarke. Sponsored by Coole Swan

Restaurant Critic Award: Joe McNamee, Irish Examiner

Judged by Xanthe Clay and Tom Parker Bowles. Sponsored by Safco Fine Foods

Outstanding Achievement in Food Writing Award: John and Sally McKenna

Sponsored by James Whelan Butchers


The awards, established in 2021 by Suzanne Campbell with Paul O’Connor, are kindly sponsored by Sharon Noonan, Ardkeen Grocery, Certified Irish Angus, Drummond House Garlic, Glenmar Shellfish, Clayton Hotels, , Invest Northern Ireland, Odaois Foods, Pestle + Mortar, Safco Fine Foods, Gather+Gather, Whelehan’s Wines, Powerscourt Distillery, Franciscan Well, Kerrygold, Bord Bia, Ruchii Blackrock, Coole Swan and James Whelan Butcher.

The Irish Food Writing Awards were established to recognise and celebrate the high quality of food and drink writing from throughout the island of Ireland, across print, broadcast and online.  In all categories, entries were accepted from the nominees themselves, or by a third party and were open to writers, journalists, bloggers and photographers.


Twitter @Irish_Writing #IFWA23

Insta @IrishFoodWritingAwards

Share this:

Explore topics: