Munster Regional Awards Winners 2023 Announced

Thursday, March 30, 2023. 5:18pm
Munster Regional Awards Winners 2023 Announced

The Munster Regional Final of Irish Restaurant Awards 2023  took place in the Limerick Strand Hotel, on Wednesday 8th March.  

Almost 700 restaurant and hospitality business owners and staff celebrated their hard work and achievements at the Awards Event, which saw many well-known restaurateurs of Munster turn out to see if they had won one of the prestigious awards. 

Speaking at the Munster Regional Awards President of the Restaurants Association of Ireland, Paul Lenehan, said; “Now in their 14th year, the Irish Restaurant Awards returns with a record breaking number of public nominations (over 130,000). This sheer number of votes highlight the support & appreciation by the general public for our hospitality sector and all who contribute to it. The Awards are an opportunity to celebrate the existing, and up and coming talent, in the sector and are a reminder that hospitality is nothing without their dedicated and passionate staff. The Awards continue to showcase the incredible food that is on offer in the cafes, hotels, pubs and restaurants of Ireland. We are delighted to be here in Limerick for the first of the Regional Events for 2023 and look forward to welcoming all winners in Munster to the All Ireland Awards on 15th May.” 

Food outlets were nominated under the categories of of Local Food Hero, Best Sustainable Practices, Best Free From, Best Emerging Irish Cuisine, Best Restaurant Manager, Best Wine Experience, Best Café, Best World Cuisine, Best Newcomer, Pub of the Year, Best Casual Dining, Best Hotel & Guesthouse Restaurant, Best Customer Service, Best Gastropub, Best Chef, and Best Restaurant and finally a new award category for 2023 Innovator of the Year. 

All of the county winners now compete for the Regional and All Ireland Titles, which will be announced at the Irish Restaurant Awards All Ireland Final on Monday 15th May in the Clayton Hotel, Burlington Road, Dublin 4. The winners on the night were: 

Local Food Hero Sponsored by The Irish Times 

  • Clare – Julia Hemingway, Julia’s Lobster Truck 
  • Cork – Caitlin Ruth, Caitlin Ruth Food 
  • Kerry – Louise Brosnan, Mex Wex 
  • Tipperary – Con Traas, The Apple Farm 
  • Waterford – The Jephson Family, Ardkeen Quality Food Store 
  • Limerick – Pat O’Sullivan, MasterChefs

Best Sustainable Practices Sponsored by Gas Networks Ireland  

  • Clare – Roadside Tavern Lisdoonvarna 
  • Cork- Good Day Deli Cork  
  • Kerry- The Tan Yard at Killarney Plaza Hotel 
  • Tipperary- Talbot Hotel Clonmel 
  • Waterford- Grow HQ 
  • Limerick- Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel 

Innovator of the Year Sponsored by Diageo  

  • Clare – Armada Hotel 
  • Cork- The Fish Basket 
  • Kerry- Seed and Soul 
  • Tipperary- Dé Róistes 
  • Waterford- Mezze Tramore 
  • Limerick- House Limerick

Free From  

  • Clare – Sweet N Green 
  • Cork – My Goodness 
  • Kerry – Thyme Out Café & Delicatessen 
  • Tipperary – Saffron Indian Cuisine  
  • Waterford- Avo Cafe Waterford  
  • Limerick – Hook & Ladder, Sarsfield St 

Best Emerging Irish Cuisine Sponsored by FBD 

  • Clare – Morrissey’s of Doonbeg 
  • Cork – Restaurant Chestnut 
  • Kerry – Solas Wine Bar, Dingle 
  • Tipperary – Mitchel House Restaurant 
  • Waterford- Everett’s Restaurant 
  • Limerick – Let’s Do Coffee Café & Bistro

Best Restaurant Manager Sponsored by Halcyon Group

  • Clare – Gosia Morzyk, Pollock & Porter 
  • Cork – Ronan Sharpe, Elbow Lane 
  • Kerry – Neil Hynes, Number 35 
  • Tipperary – Catherine O’Donnell, Mani Restaurant 
  • Waterford – Peter Hogan, Beach House 
  • Limerick- Elaine Murphy, 1826 Adare

Best Wine Experience Sponsored by Bibendum Ireland 

  • Clare – Earl of Thomond Restaurant at Dromoland Castle 
  • Cork – Nells Wine Bar 
  • Kerry – The Falls Restaurant at Sheen Falls Lodge 
  • Tipperary – Bodega 1830 
  • Waterford – Union Wine Bar 
  • Limerick – Savoy Bar at The Savoy

Best Café Sponsored by Illy 

  • Clare- Cafe Aroma 
  • Cork – WunderKaffe 
  • Kerry – Bean and Batch 
  • Tipperary – The Wooden Spoon 
  • Waterford- TeoLai 
  • Limerick – Café Lógr

Best World Cuisine Sponsored by San Pellegrino 

  • Clare- Bollywood Temple 
  • Cork- Da Mirco Bridge St 
  • Kerry – Lily House 
  • Tipperary- RannaGhor 
  • Waterford – Mezze Tramore 
  • Limerick – Melody 

Best Newcomer Sponsored by Square 

  • Clare- Morning Dew 
  • Cork – Terre Restaurant 
  • Kerry- Lagom Restaurant 
  • Tipperary- Up Eats Café  
  • Waterford- Dún Artizan Café  
  • Limerick- Oahu

Pub of the Year Sponsored by Peroni 

  • Clare – Friels Pub 
  • Cork – O’Sullivan’s Bar Crookhaven 
  • Kerry – Helen’s Bar 
  • Tipperary – TJ Macs Bar  
  • Waterford – An Uisce Beatha  
  • Limerick – 101 Limerick

Best Casual Dining Sponsored by Musgrave Marketplace 

  • Clare – The Pipers Inn Bar & Restaurant  
  • Cork- Jacques Restaurant 
  • Kerry – CAMOS 
  • Tipperary – O’Neill’s Bistro  
  • Waterford – Momo Restaurant Waterford 
  • Limerick – Tuscany Bistro

Best Hotel & Guesthouse Restaurant Sponsored By Frylite 

  • Clare – The Dining Room at Gregan’s Castle Hotel  
  • Cork – Ballymaloe Hotel & Restaurant 
  • Kerry – The Peregrine Killarney Park Hotel   
  • Tipperary – The Bishops Buttery at Cashel Palace Hotel  
  • Waterford – House Restaurant at Cliff House Hotel  
  • Limerick – The Oak Room at Adare Manor

Best Customer Service Sponsored Provided by Dolmen 

  • Clare – Henry’s Bistro & Wine Bar  
  • Cork – Farmgate Middleton 
  • Kerry – Tankard 
  • Tipperary – The Junction Gastro Bar & Guesthouse 
  • Waterford –The Granary Café  
  • Limerick – 1826 Adare 

Best Gastro Pub Sponsored by Worldpay from FIS 

  • Tipperary – Matt The Thresher Inn  
  • Waterford – The Reg  
  • Limerick – Collins Bar Dooradoyle 
  • Clare- Linnanes Lobster Bar  
  • Cork – O’Mahony’s of Watergrasshill  
  • Kerry – O’Carroll’s Cove

Best Chef Sponsored by BWG Foodservice 

  • Clare – Cezary Sodel, Oar 
  • Cork – Takashi Miyazaki, Ichigo Ichie 
  • Kerry – Diarmuid Murphy, Hilliards 
  • Tipperary – Stephen Hayes, Cashel Palace Hotel  
  • Waterford – Jumoke Akintola, Beach House  
  • Limerick – Mike Tweedie, The Oak Room Hotel at Adare Manor

Best Restaurant Sponsored by San Miguel 

  • Clare – Oar 
  • Cork – Paradiso 
  • Kerry – Kingdom 1795 
  • Tipperary – Prime 74  
  • Waterford – Tannery Restaurant  
  • Limerick – The East Room Restaurant

Sponsors of this Year’s Irish Restaurant Awards: 

  • Avonmore  
  • Bibendum Ireland  
  • BWG Foodservice  
  • Diageo   
  • FBD Insurance  
  • Frylite  
  • Gas Networks Ireland  
  • Halcyon Group  
  • Illy  
  • IMRO  
  • Irish Times  
  • Monin  
  • Musgrave Marketplace  
  • Peninsula  
  • Peroni Nastro Azzurro  
  • Restaurant & Hospitality Skillnet   
  • provided by Dolmen   
  • San Miguel   
  • San Pellegrino  
  • Square  
  • Wild Irish Game  
  • Worldpay from FIS 

More information on the Irish Restaurant Awards: 

Official Photographs from the Munster Regional Awards:

All Images Credit: Paul Sherwood 

Contact [email protected] 

Phone: (01)6779901 

Share this:

Explore topics: