High spirits as Meath’s Boann Distillery wins fourth ‘World’s Best’ award

Friday, March 25, 2022.
High spirits as Meath's Boann Distillery wins fourth 'World's Best' award

Boann Distillery has won the world’s best single grain whiskey at a prestigious ceremony in London

The Co Meath drinks firm clinched the top prize for its Whistler Mosaic Marsala Cask on Thursday night. (Mar 24)

It is the company’s fourth international gong in the World Whiskies Awards since 2019 and it was also nominated

in last night’s finals for the world’s best blended malt for ‘The Good, The Bad and The Smoky’.

Both spirits form part of the distillery’s flagship Whistler range.

“We are absolutely delighted with the success,” said Boann co-founder, Sally Anne Cooney.

“Winning the world’s best grain whiskey is a massive achievement and proof that we can play on a world stage with the best whiskey producers on the planet.

“It is a testament to the hard work and attention to detail of our distillers and larger team and comes on the back of three other ‘world’s best’ awards in recent years.”

At the WWA last year, Boann won the world’s Best New Make 2021 and world’s best honey for the Whistler Irish Honey, in addition to the world’s best cream for Merrys Irish Cream Liqueur in 2019.

The Co Meath distillery, based just outside Drogheda, blazed a trail to the finals in London after coming through the first-round of blind tastings, in which it scooped 11 prizes – Gold for its Single Pot Still ‘New Make Spirit Naoi’ and three silvers for its Oloroso Sherry Cask Finish, Single Pot Still “New Make Spirit Ceathair’ and Single Pot Still ‘New Make Spirit Deich’.

It also clinched a host of bronze awards in the competition, organised by Whisky Magazine.

“We must extend a heartfelt thanks to our judges, who all met online in dedicated tasting sessions to share their expertise and evaluate each sample individually,” said Anita Ujszaszi, awards director.

“It has been an incredible experience. None of this would have been possible without all the great people involved, across all parts of the operation, who were willing to help and work together to make this a great year for the World Whiskies Awards.

“We have seen increased numbers of whiskies entered and measurably improved quality across the board.”

The awards commend the best whiskies in 16 categories, covering style and production methods. The first round of blind tastings is judged by independent spirits experts.

From their scores, a winner is selected for each category and country, and gold, silver and bronze medals awarded. Each country winner then competes in round two for the title of World’s Best in each category.

Sharing is caring!

Read More On:

Related News

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This