Jewel in Ireland’s Crown reopens with Splendour & Scandal
Visitors to the recently opened historic property will be invited to enjoy Splendour & Scandal: The Office of Arms at Dublin Castle, a spectacular exhibition curated by William Derham, exploring the fascinating history of The Office of Arms, which was located at Dublin Castle for 150 years from 1831 to 1981. 'Splendour & Scandal' gives visitors an incredible insight into the role of the Office during this period from the organisation of state ceremonial and pageantry, right thought to its links with the disappearance of the Irish Crown Jewels.
Some of the many captivating items on display include the original Tabard of Ulster King of Arms worn by Sir Arthur Vicars; a ‘Ball and Party’ book from 1906 which denotes the controversial attendance of Count and Countess Markievicz to many events in the Castle; Roger Casement’s letter of appointment to the Order of St Michael and St George, as well as the brass-bound, mahogany box which housed the celebrated Irish Crown Jewels. William Derham, curator, said;“This exhibition is an exciting reassembly of objects, generously loaned from many Institutions, such as the National Library of Ireland and the Northern Ireland Assembly. These items help bring to life some of the stories of the Office of Arms during its time at Dublin Castle, not least the notorious theft of the Irish Crown Jewels in 1907.”
As we prepare for a summer of indigenous exploration, the OPW is encouraging the public to experience the many diverse range of heritage properties and fascinating exhibitions on our doorstep.