• Cyril McAree

Irish Hospitality Institute Honoured Excellence At Last Night's’ Annual IHI Founder’s Banquet An

Over 500 industry colleagues gathered at last’s night’s IHI Founder’s Banquet and Hospitality Management Awards to celebrate exceptional winners across 13 categories. The annual IHI Hospitality Management Awards are a recognition of the nominated person in their role, their capability, technical skills and their ability to demonstrate continuous professional development coupled with the energy and innovation they bring to their role.

Pic Shows: Alan Buckley from Jurys Inn Parnell Street WINS Hotel General Manager of the Year


Hotel General Manager of the Year – Alan Buckley, Jurys Inn Parnell Street

Employee of the Year – Denise Meenaghan, The Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Sligo

Revenue Manager of the Year – Declan McKenna, The Guinness Storehouse

Executive Head Chef of the Year – Michelle O’Donnell, Masterchefs Hospitality

Young Manager of the Year – Keith O’Sullivan, Masterchefs Hospitality

Graduate of the Year – Emer Priestley, Shannon College of Hotel Management

HR Manager of the Year – Kathleen Linehan, Trigon Hotels

Catering Manager of the Year – Sigitas Zubrickas, Sodexo Ireland

Finance Manager of the Year – Brian Farrell, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Environmental & Facilities Manager of the Year – Aine Martin, Hotel Doolin

Sales & Marketing Manager of the Year – Eveanna Ryan, Connacht Hospitality

Food & Beverage Manager of the Year – Alex Staskunas, Compass Group at Aviva Stadium

Deputy General Manager of the Year – Diana Pyzio

Oonagh Cremins, President of the IHI, talks about the prestigiousness of the awards and recognising the personal contribution of individual hospitality professionals: ‘A huge congratulations to all of our 2019 winners. This year we attracted the highest number of applicants to-date across 18 counties, and the awards were attended by 500+ industry professionals, reconfirming the prestigiousness of the awards and is a true reflection of the work we are undertaking to grow our membership awareness nationwide. As an industry we focus on delivering a better guest satisfaction and we position our people at the centre of this, hence these employee centric awards propels a higher calibre of winner, someone who was nominated by a peer or an employer as being exceptional at their role, celebrating them as an individual, their ability, dedication and professionalism. We would like to say a big thank you to our judges, category sponsors and partners who play their part in making the event the success it is.’

Through a new online entry mechanism for 2019, applications for this year’s awards were completed by both the nominator and the nominee. The judging process allows IHI members to submit their chosen nominee, a panel of IHI judges made up of senior industry figures across many industries from hoteliers to Failte Ireland to industry consultants and mainstream banking executives, shortlist the nominations. Nominees then proceed to an interview stage where the judging panel base their final decision before the overall winners were announced at last night’s event where over 500 industry leaders gathered to recognise the personal contribution of individual hospitality professionals.

Pic shows: The Guestline Team alongside Declan McKenna, of the Guinness Storehouse, winner of Revenue Manager of the Year

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Search by Tags

© 2020 by ManagingDigital